Top News
Next Story

16 candidates fate sealed in the EVMs in Karnal

Send Push
The Times Of India
13th May, 2019 13:01 IST
Get News Updates directly on your WhatsApp. Click here to Subscribe.

KARNAL: With 58.96% polling reported till 6pm from the Karnal parliamentary constituency, the fate of 16 candidates was sealed in the EVMs here today. The final turnout was not available till the time of going to the press. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections turnout was 70.86%.

The polling passed off peacefully with no untoward incident reported from any part of the parliamentary constituency, comprising nine assembly segments in Karnal and Panipat districts. But incidents of EVMs malfunctioning were reported in Indri block and some other places and polling was delayed by up to half an hour.

Due to heat, polling became slow in the afternoon. The maximum temperature recorded in the city was 39 degree Celsius. As the temperature went down, polling picked up and 47.31% of the electorate cast their vote by 4 pm.

Chief minister Manohar Lal exercised his vote on booth number 174, and took a selfie, while appealing to people to come out and vote. Congress nominee Kuldeep Sharma and his family cast their votes at the community centre sector 9. While BJP candidate Sanjay Bhatia cast his vote in Panipat.

Official sources said a turnout of 68.12% was recorded in Nilokheri, followed by Assandh (63%), Garaundha (61%), Panipat rural (62.39%), 59% in Indri, 58.44% in Israna, 58% in Samalkha, 52% in Panipat urban, 51% in Karnal till 8pm.

There was a total of 16 candidates in the fray, including independents which are trying their luck in Lok Sabha elections. Sanjay Bhatia from BJP, Kuldeep Sharma from the Congress, Dharamvir Singh Padha from INLD, Krishan Aggarwal from JJP-AAP alliance and Pankaj Chaudhary from BSP-LSP alliance were the main contenders.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now