Top News
Next Story

700 electric buses to ply in 14 districts of UP, cabinet gives nod

Send Push
India TV
02nd October, 2019 07:32 IST

An approval to run 700 electric buses in 14 districts was given by the Uttar Pradesh government on Tuesday. According to government spokespersons Siddharth Nath Singh and Shrikant Sharma, the cabinet presided over by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath give its nod to run 32-seater battery-run AC buses in 14 districts of the state.

The districts are Lucknow, Meerut, Allahabad, Agra, Ghaziabad, Kanpur, Varanasi, Moradabad, Aligarh, Jhansi, Bareilly, Gorakhpur, Shahjahanpur and Mathura-Vrindavan, they said.

Electric buses will ensure smooth movement of traffic and help in checking pollution levels, the officials added.

In another important decision, the cabinet gave its approval for making arrangements to open 14 medical colleges in Sultanpur, Chandauli, Gonda, Bulandshahar, Auraiya, Amethi, Sonbhadra, Lakhimpur, Pilibhit and Lalitpur districts among others.

The cabinet also approved providing Rs 318.67 crores for works to be undertaken in the second phase under the Kashi Vishwanath Temple area expansion plan and the beautification of Varanasi.

The chief minister has directed that the entire work in Varanasi be completed by December 2021, they added.

Also Read | Tamil Nadu to buy 2,623 buses with financial assistance from KFW

Also Read | Delhi LG calls for expediting installation of CCTV cameras, panic buttons in buses

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now