Top News
Next Story

Andhra Pradesh chief minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy divests key ministers of district in-charge roles

Send Push
The Times Of India
21st October, 2019 12:51 IST

AMARAVATI: Chief minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy divested deputy chief ministers Pilli Subhash Chandrabose and Alla Kali Krishna Srinivas (Nani) of their ‘district-in-charge’ roles on Sunday.

Home minister Mekathoti Sucharitha too lost her role as in charge of Nellore, replaced by energy minister Balineni Srinivasa Reddy.

Industries minister Mekapati Gautham Reddy was the only one who kept his role as in-charge of Chittoor district, the den of former chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

The move leaves all the five deputy chief ministers without the charge of any district.

Usually, revenue and home ministers are considered to be the most powerful in the cabinet after the chief minister. Both revenue minister Pilli Subhash Chandrabose and home minister Sucharitha lost their in-charge roles.

The district in-charge job is politically significant as they review developmental activities and coordinate with MLAs. This gives them an extra lever on power.

The feedback of district in-charge ministers would be crucial for the chief minister to pick leaders for nominated posts and transfer of senior officials. They also get the chance to hoist the national flag during Independence Day parade.

“The district in-charge ministers shall review and monitor implementation of various government welfare and developmental activities of their respective districts,” the GO said.

Sources said the chief minister took the decision in view of the upcoming local body elections. Since the in-charge minister is required to take tough calls to protect the interests of the party, Bose and Sucharitha were replaced.

A seasoned politician, Botcha Satyanarayana, was made in-charge of the sensitive Ananthapuram district and veteran minister Peddireddi Ramachandra Reddy was given Krishna district.

Similarly, ace strategist Kurasala Kannababu was made in-charge for Visakhapatham district by shifting Mopidevi Venkata Ramana to East Godavari. While finance minister Buggana moved to Prakasam, education minister Adimulapu Suresh will hold the charge of CM’s home turf, Kadapa.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now