Top News
Next Story

Andhra Pradesh districts to go for MLC polls today

Send Push
The Times Of India
22nd March, 2019 09:10 IST

VIJAYAWADA: The state is all set for the MLC elections scheduled to be held on Friday. The election will be witnessed in the seven districts — Srikakulam, Vizianagaram and Visakhapatnam , East Godavari and West Godavari, Krishna and Guntur districts.

Krishna and Guntur districts are witnessing MLC election for the graduates constituency, as incumbent Boddu Nageswara Rao is retiring at the end of this month. Similarly, the two Godavari districts are also holding the election for the graduates MLC constituency, as K Ravikiran Varm is retiring. The three north coastal districts are also going for elections on Friday, to elect MLC under teachers’ constituency quota, as incumbent Gade Srinivasulu Naidu will retire on March 30.

This time, political parties have dropped out of this elections as they are busy with the upcoming general elections. The parties could not field their candidates and did not even take out time to back any candidate. It is only the teachers’ unions that are fighting this election. A total of 19,598 teachers are scheduled to exercise their vote.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now