Top News
Next Story

Assam: Candidates file nominations for October 21 byelections

Send Push
The Times Of India
01st October, 2019 14:11 IST

GUWAHATI: Candidates fielded by BJP, Congress, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and other parties filed their nominations on Monday for the bypolls in four assembly constituencies scheduled on October 21.

The four seats up for grabs are Ratabari in the Barak Valley, Rangapara in Sonitpur district , Sonari in Charaideo district and Jania in Barpeta district. While chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal accompanied BJP candidate Nabanita Handique for filing her nomination Sonari seat, finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma was with BJP candidate Rajen Borthakur while he was filing his nomination for the Rangapara seat.

"People of the state have experienced the achievements our country have made under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Inclusive development under his leadership will ensure our victory in all the four assembly seats," Sonowal said. "The abrogation of Article 370 and support for India from the international community have created a positive impact on the minds of people across the country. Voters will also give their mandate for Narendra Modi's leadership," Sarma added.

Congress leaders, however, had a different opinion. "Jania is Congress's bastion and this will ensure our party's victory. People will vote against the failures of the BJP government," Shamsul Hoque, running for the Jania seat, said.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now