Batsman misses his century after another umpiring error in World Cup semi-final
England batsman Jason Roy missed his century after umpire Kumar Dharmasena misjudged a delivery and gave him out. But it was later confirmed in the ultra edge that Jason Roy didn’t hit the ball which the umpire judged as out.
It was in the 20th over bowled by Pat Cummins which Jason Roy missed while hitting a shot and it went to wicket-keeper Alex Carey. Umpire Dharmasena showed the out signal while Jason Roy protested. But there was no review left for England to go to the third umpire. Jason Roy had to go on 85 but the ultra edge showed that he was not out.
Earlier in the tournament, Chris Gayle faced a similar situation when he was given out leg-before while it was later confirmed that he was not out. In yesterday’s semifinal between India and New Zealand, umpires failed to notice a fielding error.
Jason Roy's dismissal
England beat Australia by 8 wickets to become the second team to reach the 2019 World Cup final. Chris Woakes was declared the man of the match for taking three wickets in the match. Australia was bundled out for 223 runs in 49 overs which England chased down easily in 32.1 overs.
England will now play New Zealand in the final of World Cup 2019. Whoever wins it will be the first time they will lift the World Cup trophy. England will play the World Cup final after 1992, while New Zealand played their last final in 2015.
- Indian team divided after New Zealand defeat, teammates not happy with Virat Kohli's dictatorship
- England beat Australia by 8 wickets to reach World Cup final after 27 years
- Kane Williamson on MS Dhoni, 'We'll consider his selection if he is willing to change nationalities'
- Unable to bear MS Dhoni's run-out a man suffers heart-attack and dies
- Jofra Archer hits Alex Carey with a bouncer, applies bandaid to play again