Top News
Next Story

Manraj and Rakshitha to spearhead India challenge at Dutch and German Junior tournament

Send Push
India’s no. 33 men’s singles shuttler Manraj Singh and women’s singles shuttler Rakshitha Sree S. will lead the 19-member contingent at the upcoming Dutch Junior International 2023 and German Junior 2023. BAI conducted a selection trials process to pick the shuttlers for the year’s first two majors.

Manraj Singh topped the men’s singles category followed by Ayush Shetty, Lokesh Reddy K., and Gagan. While, rising women’s singles shuttler Rakshitha Sree S. will lead the women’s singles group along with India no. 25 Shreya Lele, Jiya Rawat, and India no. 24 Aalisha Naik.

“This is a good bunch of rising Indian shuttlers. They’ve been doing well at the junior circuit and they have proved their mettle at selection trials as well to seal their place in the squad. All of them have the potential to finish on the podium. I hope they do well at these events and more to come,” said Sanjay Mishra, Secretary, of the Badminton Association of India.

Meanwhile, Bhavya Chhabra-Param Choudhary will shoulder the men’s doubles responsibility with in-form Divyam Arora-Mayank Rana making it to the team as 2nd pair. Women’s doubles duo Vennala K.-Shreyanshi Valishetty who also represented India recently at Badminton Asia Junior Championships 2022 will be keen to put up impactful performances along with Vaishnavi Khadkekar-Sania Sikkandar.

Whereas, Arulmurugan R.-Srinidhi N. alongside Sathwik Reddy K.-Vaishnavi Khadkekar is India’s best bet in the mixed doubles category. The Dutch Junior International 2023 will kick off on March 1 in Haarlem while the German Junior 2023 will begin on March 8 in Berlin.

Indian squad

Men’s singles: Manraj Singh, Ayush Shetty, Lokesh Reddy K., Gagan

Women’s singles: Rakshitha Sree S., Shreya Lele, Jiya Rawat, Aalisha Naik

Men’s doubles: Bhavya Chhabra/Param Choudhary, Divyam Arora/Mayank Rana

Women’s doubles: Vennala K./Shreyanshi Valishetty, Vaishnavi Khadkekar/Sania Sikkandar

Mixed doubles: Arulmurugan R./Srinidhi N., Sathwik Reddy K./Vaishnavi Khadkekar

Get updates! Follow us on

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now