Hero Image

MP Akhilesh Yadav quits Karhal assembly seat

LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party national president Akhilesh Yadav formally resigned from Karhal assembly seat to retain Kannauj Lok Sabha constituency , on Wednesday. Newly elected MP from Ayodhya, Awadhesh Prasad, who is a sitting MLA from Milkipur, has also forwarded his resignation to the Speaker.

While the move has put to rest the speculations over whether Akhilesh will retain the position of the Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the state assembly or quit Kannauj, the spotlight in state politics has now shifted to the next LoP in the assembly. "It is obvious," said party's national spokesperson and secretary Rajendra Chaudhary."Akhilesh Yadav and Awadhesh Prasad formally submitted their resignation letters on Wednesday afternoon," a source in the UP assembly confirmed.