Top News
Next Story

Lok Sabha elections: Dynasty politics prevails in selection of LJP candidates

Send Push
The Times Of India
18th March, 2019 04:00 IST

PATNA: Dynasty politics still prevails in the Lok Janshakti Party ( LJP ) as far as the likely selection of its candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections .

Party insiders said at least three family members of LJP president Ram Vilas Paswan will be given tickets out of the six seats allotted to the party and announced at a joint press conference of the NDA in Bihar on Sunday.

Two sitting MPs from the family — Ram Vilas’s son Chirag Paswan from Jamui and LJP chief’s youngest brother Ram Chandra Paswan from Samastipur — are almost confirmed to be fielded again. The third seat of Hajipur, which is represented by Ram Vilas himself, is also likely to be allotted to one of his family members as he has himself expressed his unwillingness to contest the Lok Sabha election this time. Ram Vilas has already got the nod for a Rajya Sabha seat from BJP national president Amit Shah.

Ram Vilas is likely to field his younger brother and state animal husbandry resources minister Pashupati Kumar Paras from Hajipur. However, BJP is insisting on Ram Vilas to contest from Hajipur.

“It has been found in an internal survey conducted by the party that Ram Vilas ji has better chances of winning from Hajipur than Paras. Thus, we have suggested LJP to field Ram Vilas ji from Hajipur and send someone else to the Rajya Sabha,” a senior BJP functionary, wishing anonymity, told TOI.

LJP has also got Nawada parliamentary constituency represented by BJP’s firebrand leader and Union minister Giriraj Singh. Giriraj is most likely to be fielded from Begusarai where he is likely to face former JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar from CPI if things in the Mahagathbandhan moves according to plans. LJP’s sitting MP from Munger Veena Devi, the wife of don-turned-politician Surajbhan Singh, will contest from Nawada.

Another Veena Devi, who is the wife of JD(U) MLC Dinesh Singh, may be declared LJP candidate from Vaishali. She had unsuccessfully contested the 2015 state assembly election from Gai Ghat in Muzaffarpur district.

LJP state president Paras told reporters on Sunday that a final decision on the selection of candidates will be taken in the party’s parliamentary board meeting to be held on Monday.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now