Top News
Next Story

Lok Sabha polls 2019: Giriraj vs Kanhaiya in Begusarai?

Send Push
The Times Of India
17th March, 2019 07:43 IST

PATNA: BJP has decided to field its five Union ministers from the state in the parliamentary election. While four will get tickets from the constituencies they represent, Union MoS Giriraj Singh will be shifted from his present Nawada seat to Begusarai to battle it out with former JNUSU president and CPI’s potential nominee Kanhaiya Kumar, sources said.

Radha Mohan Singh is likely to be fielded from East Champaran (Motihari), RK Singh from Ara, Ashwini Kumar Choubey from Buxar and Ram Kripal Yadav from Patliputra.

Until recently, the Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) had been pressuring BJP to cede Ara, Buxar and Patliputra.

On the other hand, LJP headed by Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan was eyeing Nawada as it had to relinquish Munger constituency to JD(U). However, state BJP sources said, RSS put its foot down and insisted BJP drive a hard bargain, and retain seats held by the five ministers besides keeping its toehold on districts which have a dominant Muslim presence.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now