Top News
Next Story

Nashik: Sena leaders still in dilemma

Send Push
The Times Of India
04th October, 2019 04:18 IST

Nashik: Local Shiv Sena leaders are still trying to get the Nashik West seat from BJP.

As many as 22 Shiv Sena corporators were elected to the Nashik Municipal Corporation (NMC) from different wards that are part of this constituency.

A senior Sena leader said they were planning to support other candidates if they do not get the seat.

“Since we have good number of corporators from the constituency, we want the party to get the seat back from the BJP,” he said.

“Now, there are only a few options. Either we put our own candidate as an independent, or we rally behind CPM’s D L Karad who has bagged the seat in alliance with the Congress and NCP,” he added.

“The third option is to support Deepak Datir who would be contesting assembly election on MNS ticket,” he said.

The BJP has fielded sitting MLA Seema Hiray as its candidate from Nashik West.

Datir recently quit Sena and joined Raj Thackeray’s MNS. Meanwhile, on Thursday, Dileep Manglu Borse (Baglan), Rahul Aher (Chandwad) and Shaikh Ibrahim Shaikh Aslam (Malegaon Central) filed their candidature from BJP while Suhas Kande (Nandgaon), Sambhaji Pawar (Yeola), Dhanraj Mahale (Dindori), Yogesh Baban Gholap (Deolali) and Nirmala Gavit (Igatpuri) filed their nominations from Sena.

The BJP also announced the candidature of Kashiram Pawara from Shirpur constituency in Dhule district. Pawara was the sitting Congress MLA and recently joined the saffron alliance.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now