Hero Image

Nepal's Historic Feat: Yuvraj & Rohit's Records Tumble In Asian Games T20I

In a remarkable display of cricketing prowess, Nepal's men's cricket team etched their names in the record books during their Asian Games group match against Mongolia. As the men's tournament commenced in Hangzhou, history was made right from the first match.

Breaking the 300-Run Barrier
Nepal's batting lineup left spectators in awe as they posted an astounding score of 314/3 in just 20 overs.
This monumental achievement made them the first team ever to breach the 300-run mark in the shortest format of the game.

The significance of this feat was underlined by the fact that the International Cricket Council (ICC) had granted T20I status to the matches at the Asian Games.

Dipendra Singh Airee's Lightning-Fast Half-Century
Dipendra Singh Airee further electrified the game by shattering Yuvraj Singh's long-standing record of the fastest T20I half-century, previously set during the 2007 World Cup against England in just 12 balls.

Airee blazed through the innings, reaching his half-century in an astonishing nine deliveries. He finished with an unbeaten score of 52 runs in just 10 balls, with 48 of those runs coming from sixes.

Kushal Malla 's Historic Century
The milestones didn't stop there. Kushal Malla had something extraordinary in store as he surpassed the records of prominent batters like India 's Rohit Sharma and South Africa's David Miller by scoring the fastest T20I century in just 34 deliveries. Malla's incredible knock consisted of 8 fours and a staggering 12 sixes, culminating in an unbeaten score of 137 off only 50 deliveries.

Top T20I Scores in History:
  • Nepal - 314/4 vs Mongolia (2023)
  • Afghanistan - 278/3 vs Ireland (2019)
  • Czech Republic - 278/4 vs Turkey (2019)
  • Australia - 263/3 vs Sri Lanka (2016)
  • Sri Lanka - 260/6 vs Kenya (2007)
India Set to Join in Quarter-Finals
In the Asian Games men's cricket competition, the teams are divided into three groups, each comprising three teams, in the initial round. The top-placed side from each group secures a spot in the quarter-finals, where India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are set to join the fray.

Ruturaj Gaikwad to Lead India
India's cricket team will be led by Ruturaj Gaikwad, a familiar face who has recently been part of the ODI squad in matches against Australia. His experience and leadership will be instrumental in India's quest for success in the upcoming matches.