Top News
Next Story

Ravi Shankar Prasad-Shatrughan Sinha fight on cards in Patna Sahib

Send Push
The Times Of India
18th March, 2019 08:02 IST

PATNA: The prestigious Patna Sahib seat is all set to throw up an interesting electoral fight with the BJP, according to sources, deciding to field Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from the constituency to take on cine star-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha , who has time and again reiterated his stand of contesting the seat under any circumstance.

Overall, there are nine parliamentary constituencies in the BJP’s kitty which are expected to provide colourful fights. Barring Darbhanga, Sasaram and Madhubani, the party is likely to retain its sitting MPs in the remaining constituencies.

In Darbhanga, BJP’s sitting MP Kirti Azad has now joined the Congress while in Sasaram, the performance of Chhedi Paswan as an MP has been found to be unsatisfactory in the party’s internal survey. The party might field Ashok Yadav, son of sitting MP Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav, from Madhubani.

Union ministers to be in fray are Radha Mohan Singh (Motihari), R K Singh (Ara), Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Buxar), Giriraj Singh (Begusarai) and Ram Kripal Yadav (Pataliputra).

However, the constituency that is likely to catch the attention of all is Begusarai, where Giriraj is expected to lock horns with former JNUSU president and CPI’s prospective nominee Kanhaiya Kumar.

Other key BJP leaders in fray would be Rajiv Pratap Rudy (Saran), Nityanand Rai (Ujiarpur) and Pradeep Kumar Singh or Dilip Jaiswal (Araria).

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now