Top News
Next Story

Repolling at 5 booths of 5 Haryana Assembly seats underway

Send Push
Times Now
23rd October, 2019 08:13 IST

Chandigarh: Repolling at five polling booths in five Assembly constituencies in Haryana is underway on Wednesday (October 23).

The repolling, which began at 7 am, will end at 6 pm.

Repolling is underway at booth number 161 of the Berry seat in the Jhajjar district, booth number 71 of the Uchana Kalan seat in the Jind district, booth number 18 of the Kosli seat in the Rewari district, booth number 28 of the Narnaul seat in the Narnaul district, and booth number 113 of the Prithla seat in the Faridabad district.

According to Haryana's joint chief electoral officer Dr Inder Jeet: "In the polls which were held in Haryana on Monday, some shortcomings were noticed in five booths after which the Election Commission ordered re-polling in these booths."

Results will be declared tomorrow.

In the October 21 Haryana Assembly Elections, the state had recorded 68.31 per cent polling. The highest polling was recorded in the Ellenabad constituency (83.62 per cent) and the lowest in Badkhal (49.18 per cent). Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar's constituency Karnal had witnessed 52.29 per cent voting.

Barring "minor incidents", the polling remained largely peaceful in Haryana. 

Key figures who contested the polls include Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, senior Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Indian National Lok Dal's Abhay Singh Chautala, and Jannayak Janta Party leader Dushyant Chautala. Haryana ministers such as Anil Vij, Capt Abhimanyu, Ram Bilas Sharma, OP Dhankar and Kavita Jain are also in the fray for the BJP. 


Haryana exit poll

The BJP appears to continue its winning streak in Haryana, with various exit polls predicting a huge victory for the party in the Assembly Elections. The BJP is already in power in Haryana.

As per Times Now Exit Poll Results 2019, the BJP is likely to win 71 out of the total 90 Assembly seats. The party had won 47 seats in the 2014 Haryana Assembly Election.  

The Congress is forecast to emerge as the second-biggest party in Haryana, with its seat count likely to fall to 11 from 15 it had won in 2014.

Jannayak Janata Party, led by Dushyant Chautala, is predicted to be at the third position with five seats and nine per cent vote share. Jannayak Janata Party was formed in December 2018.

Others are likely to register victory at three seats compared to the 28 seats they had won in 2014 Haryana Assembly Elections.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now