Top News
Next Story

Six candidates to fight for Shella assembly constituency

Send Push
The Times Of India
20th October, 2019 07:52 IST

SHILLONG: Campaigning for byelection to the Shella assembly constituency in the East Khasi Hills District concluded on Saturday evening with all the contesting candidates making last ditch efforts to win over voters.

"Security arrangement is already in place to ensure smooth and peaceful conduct of the byelection," a senior police official said. The Shella assembly seat fell vacant after sitting MLA and former Speaker of the Meghalaya Assembly Donkupar Roy passed away on July 28. Counting of votes will be taken up on October 24. The Shella constituency, which is along the Indo-Bangladesh border has 29,582 voters with 14,844 females and 14,698 males.

Six candidates are in the fray, including United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate Balajied Kupar Synrem, Bharitya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Joshua Warjri, Batyngshain Laitmon Ryngnga for the Congress, People's Democratic Front (PDF) nominee Mosjo Rockfeller Wanswett and two Independent candidates - Grace Mary Kharpuri and Komen Laitmon.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now