Top News
Next Story

Turnout highest in Arunachal; lowest in Uttar Pradesh

Send Push
The Economic Times
22nd October, 2019 11:09 IST

New Delhi: Alongside the elections to the Maharashtra and Haryana assemblies, bypolls were held in 51 assembly and two Lok Sabha seats spread across 17 states and Puducherry. The turnout in most of the seats was moderate as voters were aware of the fact that a win or loss won’t change the ground situation much.

Uttar Pradesh, where voting took place for 11 seats, recorded the lowest turnout of 45.04%. Gangoh in Saharanpur recorded the highest turnout of 57.8%. Lucknow Cant, an urban seat, recorded the lowest turnout of 28.53%. Rampur, where SP leader Azam Khan’s wife Tanzeen Fatima is contesting a prestige battle, recorded only 39.31% voting.

Bihar recorded 49.5% voting for five assembly seats. The bypolls are a test for Nitish Kumar-led JDU as the party is contesting four out of the five assembly seats.

Gujarat recorded 50.35% voting for six assembly seats. While Tharad recorded highest voting of 65.47%, Amraiwadi (an urban seat) in Ahmedabad recorded the lowest 31.53%. For the record, the four of the six seats were with BJP. These seats fell vacant after the incumbents were elected to the Lok Sabha. The other two seats were won by Congress but its MLAs Alpesh Thakor and Dhavalsinh Zala joined BJP, thus necessitating byelections.

Five assembly seats in Kerala recorded 64.99% turnout.

Assam and Punjab voted for four assembly seats each. With 74.14% voting, Assam witnessed higher turnout than Punjab, where the figure was 60.59%. Sikkim recorded 69.55% voting for three assembly seats. Tamil Nadu and Rajasthan recorded 68.87% and 63.62% voting, respectively, for bypolls to two assembly seats in each state.

Arunachal Pradesh recorded the highest turnout in Khonsa (West) at 90.74%. Huzurnagar in Telangana recorded the second highest turnout of 82.23%.

Samastipur Lok Sabha seat in Bihar recorded a turnout of 40.64%. The byelection was necessitated after LJP MP Ram Chandra Paswan passed away in August. In Satara, where turnout was 60.75%, bypolls happened because NCP MP Udayanraje Pratapsinha Bhonsale joined BJP. Here the voting was slightly higher than this year’s general elections (60.47%).

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now