Top News
Next Story

Andhra elections 2019: Chandrababu Naidu decides to go with tried and tested in 1st list

Send Push
The Times Of India
15th March, 2019 08:30 IST
Get News Updates directly on your WhatsApp. Click here to Subscribe.

AMARAVATI: Chief minister and TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu and his son Nara Lokesh have found place in the first list of TDP candidates. While Naidu will enter the fray from his bastion, Kuppam in Chittoor district, for a seventh consecutive time, IT minister Lokesh will be fighting his maiden direct election from Mangalagiri constituency in Guntur district.

The CM spent the whole day holding discussions with party’s senior leaders and aspirants. He also called up some dissident leaders and assured them of due recognition.

After clearing around 126 names for the assembly, Naidu convened the politburo meeting late in the night. The party’s highest decision-making body went through the list and stamped its nod. The Lok Sabha candidate list is expected to be released on Friday.

As per initial indications, cabinet ministers Atchannaidu (Tekkali), Ayyanna Patrudu (Narsipatnam), Sujay Krishna Rangarao (Bobbili), Kala Venkata Rao (Etcherla), Kidari Sravan Kumar (Araku), N China Rajappa (Peddapuram), Devineni Umamaheswara Rao (Mailavaram), Prattipati Pullarao (Chilakaluripet), Nakka Anand Babu (Vemur), Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy (Sarvepalli), P Narayana (Nellore Urban), Bhuma Akhilapriya Allagadda), Kalava Srinivasulu (Raidurg) are among the candidates who have found place in the first list.

With women and child welfare minister Paritala Sunita deciding to make way for the entry of his son Sriram, the party did not clear the seat in the first list. In all, 12 women are expected to get the chance to contest the assembly elections. Deputy CM KE Krishna Murthy opted out of the race to field his son Syam from Dhone in Kurnool district.

Actor Nandamuri Balakrishna would once again contest from Hindupur in Anantapur district. Naidu decided to depute Prakasam district strongman Karanam Balaram to Chirala constituency after local legislator, Amanchi Krishnamohan, switched sides to YSRC. Former Congress leader Kondru Muralimohan, who joined the TDP recently, bagged the Rajam seat.

Notwithstanding controversies, government whip Chintamaneni Prabhakar has been retained in Dendulur segment of West Godavari district. Assembly speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao will contest from Sattenapalle constituency despite protests from local party leaders. With business tycoon Bida Mastan Rao refusing to enter the Lok Sabha fray, the party has granted him permission to contest from his home town Kavali segment in Nellore district.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now