Top News
Next Story

Himachal Pradesh elections: BJP, Congress candidates cast vote in same booth at Dharamshala

Send Push
The Times Of India
21st October, 2019 15:35 IST

DHARAMSHALA: In an interesting turn of events, candidates from the ruling BJP and Congress cast their votes at the same polling booth in Dharamshala assembly constituency. The booth was situated at the government senior secondary school in Ghaniyara area.

“It was the booth number 36 of this assembly seat which remained the centre of attraction on polling day as both candidates of BJP and Congress cast their votes in this booth," said Harish Gajju, the election officer.

People kept waiting outside the booth for the candidates. Many of them thought that both the leaders will come along. But the candidates came with their family members and supporters only.

BJP candidate Vishal Nehria (31) is a first timer who arrived to cast his vote around 8am while Congress candidate Vijay Inder Karan arrived an hour later. Karan cast his vote around 9.15am.

Both the leaders claimed victory in the bye-election.

Explore more on Newspoint
Loving Newspoint? Download the app now