Hero Image

Is Eid-E-Milad A Bank Holiday? List Of States With Closed Bank Branches – Check The Full List Here

In September 2023, banks in India will be closed on September 28 for Eid-E-Milad . Additionally, in certain regions of the country, banks will also be closed on September 27 in observance of Milad-i-Sherif, which commemorates Prophet Muhammad's birthday.

On Wednesday, September 27, banks will be closed in Jammu and Kerala.
Furthermore, on September 28, banks will remain closed in several states and union territories, including New Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Gujarat, Mizoram, Maharashtra, Manipur, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Chhattisgarh, and Jharkhand.

Additionally, on September 29, banks will be closed in observance of Indrajata and the Friday following Eid-E-Milad in Sikkim, Jammu, and Srinagar. Customers are encouraged to plan their bank visits ahead of time due to these holidays.

It's worth noting that online banking services will remain accessible for carrying out transactions, checking account balances, and conducting other essential financial activities.

How many bank holidays are there in September this year?

In September of this year, there were a total of 16 bank holidays. Banks observed closures on September 6 and September 7 in honour of Sri Krishna Janmashtami and Janmashtami (Shravan Vad-8)/Sri Krishna Ashtami, respectively.

Furthermore, banks in New Delhi were closed on September 8 in anticipation of the G20 summit. Additionally, September 18 and 19 saw bank closures in observance of Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata/Vinayaka Chathurthi and Ganesh Chaturthi/Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha).

Additionally, banks were closed on September 20 for Ganesh Chaturthi (2nd day)/Nuakhai, on September 22 for Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day, and on September 23 for Maharaja Hari Singh's birthday. Furthermore, banks observed a closure on September 25 in observance of the Janmotsav of Srimanta Sankardeva/Karma Puja.

Bank holidays in October 2023

In October 2023, India will observe 11 bank holidays. These holidays include Gandhi Jayanti on October 2, Mahalaya on October 14, Kati Bihu on October 18, Durga Puja (Maha Saptami) on October 21, Dussehra (Mahanavami)/Ayudha Puja/Durga Puja/Vijaya Dashami on October 23, Dussehra/Dussehra (Vijaya Dashmi)/Durga Puja on October 24, Durga Puja (Dasain) on October 25, Durga Puja (Dasain)/Accession Day on October 26, Lakshmi Puja on October 28, and Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s Birthday on October 31. On these dates, banks across India will remain closed.