Hero Image

AFSPA Continues For Another 6 Months In Parts Of Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh

On Tuesday, the Central government announced an extension of the validity of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act ( AFSPA ) in the regions of Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland, which were most recently designated as 'disturbed areas' under the Act on March 24, 2023. This extension will be “for a further period of six months”.

This decision comes after an assessment of the prevailing law and order situation in both states.

In Arunachal Pradesh, specifically in the districts of Tirap, Changlang, and Longding, as well as within the jurisdiction of three police stations in Namsai district, namely Namsai, Mahadevpur, and Chowkham, these areas have been reaffirmed as 'disturbed' and will remain so for an additional six months, until March 31, 2024.

In Nagaland, mirroring the directive issued under Section 3 of AFSPA on March 24, 2023, eight entire districts and 21 police stations in five additional districts have been reaffirmed as "disturbed areas" under AFSPA for an additional six months, extending until March 31, 2024.

The eight districts on the 'disturbed' list are Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, and Peren.

Additionally, the regions encompassing the jurisdiction of Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza, and Kezocha police stations in Kohima district; Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem, and Anaki 'C' police stations in Mokokchung district; Yanglok police station in Longleng district; Bhandari, Champang, and Ralan police stations in Wokha district; and Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto, and Aghunato police stations in Zunheboto district will also retain the 'disturbed' classification for an additional six-month period starting from October 1, 2023.