Hero Image

India vs Australia 2023: Team India Squad Announcement, Ravichandran Ashwin Returns, KL Rahul To Lead In First 2 ODIs

With less than three weeks left before the highly anticipated World Cup 2023, India is gearing up for their final home bilateral series of the year against Australia (IND vs AUS ODI) commencing on September 22.

In a strategic move considering player workloads, the Indian team management has decided to rest star players like Virat Kohli , Hardik Pandya, and Rohit Sharma for the first two ODIs against Australia. KL Rahul will step in as the captain for these two matches, with Rohit Sharma, Pandya, and Virat Kohli set to make their return for the final ODI. However, Jasprit Bumrah will be a part of all three ODIs.

Prioritising Player Fitness and World Cup Preparation
In a bid to ensure the players are in peak condition for the World Cup, the management is allowing key players to take a breather during this series. India has also scheduled two warm-up matches against England and Netherlands, providing an opportunity to fine-tune their best playing XI before the World Cup's commencement on October 8. This meticulous approach is aimed at preventing player fatigue during the crucial World Cup fixtures.

Ajit Agarkar-Led Selection Panel to Announce Squad
The selection panel, led by Ajit Agarkar, is set to reveal the squad for the three-match ODI series against Australia later this week. This selection will undoubtedly be closely watched by fans and experts alike.

Batting Order and Middle Order Dynamics
The batting order for the series seems to be taking shape, with Shubman Gill expected to open alongside either Rohit Sharma or Ishan Kishan, who showcased his skills as an opener during the Asia Cup. In the middle order, the reliable trio of Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer , and KL Rahul will anchor the innings. The focus will be on assessing Iyer's fitness, given his recent struggles with injuries.

All-rounders and Bowling Lineup
India's all-rounders, including Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Shardul Thakur , will likely be rotated to keep them fresh. Shardul Thakur is anticipated to occupy the number seven batting position. In the bowling department, the absence of Jasprit Bumrah in certain matches will provide opportunities for Mohammed Shami . Additionally, the return of Ravichandran Ashwin to the squad after 20 months is expected to bolster the spin bowling options and could potentially secure his spot in the World Cup squad.

As anticipation builds for both the upcoming ODI series against Australia and the World Cup, Indian cricket fans eagerly await the final squad announcement and the team's performance on the global stage.

IND Squad for first 2 ODIs against Australia
KL Rahul (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav , Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, and Washington Sundar

IND Squad for 3rd ODI
Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj